SPSA Church Giving (opens in a new tab)

Questions & Answers

Nazirite

Faith Q&A › Metropolitan Youssef › Holy Scripture › Nazirite

The question

Where in the Old Testament is it stated that grapes were forbidden to eat because wine is produced from them?

The answer

In the Old Testament, those who took the vow of Nazirite were not allowed to drink wine or eat grapes. "Speak to the children of Israel, and say to them: 'When either a man or woman consecrates an offering to take the vow of a Nazirite, to separate himself to the Lord, 'he shall separate himself from wine and similar drink; he shall drink neither vinegar made from wine nor vinegar made from similar drink; neither shall he drink any grape juice, nor eat fresh grapes or raisins" (Num 6:2-3).

Answered by His Eminence Metropolitan Youssef (opens in a new tab)

Questions answered by His Eminence Metropolitan Youssef (opens in a new tab) of the Coptic Orthodox Diocese of the Southern United States. Question 966 on the Diocese’s Q&A site. Questions and answers © Coptic Orthodox Diocese of the Southern United States. All rights reserved.